New Franklin senior Gavin Bishop has been selected to the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association Academic All-State Team for the 2019-20 season.

Bishop, a four-year starter on the New Franklin Bulldogs basketball team, finished his senior year averaging 18.6 ppg along with 7.8 rpg and 2.7 spg. He also shot 56 percent from the field, 33 percent from the three-point line and 76.2 percent from the foul line.

In conference play this past season, Bishop averaged 18.5 ppg and had his best game against Glasgow, where he scored 32 points. He also scored 26 against Pilot Grove and 21 twice against Slater.

To be nominated for Academic All-State, the individual had to meet the following qualifications:

1. Senior team member in good standing.

2. Possesses outstanding moral character.

3. Has ONE OR MORE of the following verified minimum scores:

A. ACT score of 27 composite or above

B. SAT score of 1920 composite or above

C. PSAT score of 185 selection index or more

4. Grade Point Average of 3.25 out of possible 4.0 (or equivalent on alternate grade scale).

Scott, Love named Show-Me Miss and Mr. Basketball for 2019-20 season

Katie Scott of Carl Junction and Caleb Love of Rock Bridge were the Show-Me Miss and Mr. Basketball winners for the 2019-20 season.

2020 MBCA Hall of Fame Hall of Fame induction set

The Missouri Basketball Coaches Association is proud to release their 2020 Hall of Fame class to be inducted at a ceremony on Sunday, September 13, 2020 at 1:00 pm.

The 2020 Hall of Fame class includes:

Jeff Bowland, Greg Buescher, Steve Combs, Nancy Fahey, Duane Hiler, Gary Koch, Gerry Marlin, Pete McBride, Todd Shannon, Steve Shepherd and Gary Filbert Lifetime Achievement Award winner Cheryl Burnett.

The induction ceremony will take place at the Double Tree Hotel in Springfield, Missouri. Tickets for the event may be purchased from the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association for $25 at the door or through a board member. Tables may also be purchased at a discounted cost. The Hall of Fame banquet will open at 12:00 pm and lunch will be served at 1:00 with the ceremony to follow.

Those interested in attending and purchasing meal tickets, please contact MBCA Directory Denny Hunt,

For additional information on individual inductees, please contact Brad Conway,