It was only fitting that the top teams in the Central Activities Conference also have the Most Valuable players for the 2018-19 season.
Although the Cairo and Community girls finished in a two-way tie for the league title, Cairo senior Mackenzie Dubbert was recognized as the top player in the conference.
As for the MVP for the boys, Sturgeon senior Kenny Stone was all alone as the top player in the conference for the 2018-19 season.
In the final team standings in the CAC, Cairo and Community R-6 girls both finished with records of 8-1 while Pilot Grove placed third at 6-3, Sturgeon and Madison tied for fourth at 5-4, Glasgow sixth at 3-5, New Franklin seventh at 2-8 and Slater eighth at 1-7.
As for the standings for the boys, Sturgeon captured first at 9-1. New Franklin finished second at 6-4, followed by Slater at 5-3, Cairo at 5-4, Glasgow at 4-4, Pilot Grove at 4-5, Community R-6 at 2-6 and Madison at 0-9.
Other first team selections along with Dubbert were Keegan Ryan of Cairo, Natalie Thomas, Dalaney Bowers and Sadie Hoyt of Community R-6, Emily Schupp and Melanie Wolfe of Pilot Grove, Shelby Breshears of New Franklin, Jahna Burris and Emma Bright of Sturgeon, Keleigh Bennett and Charity Morris of Madison and Brenna Hubbard of Glasgow.
Players selected to the honorable mention all-conference team were Grace Phillips of Pilot Grove, Abby Maupin of New Franklin, Kayla Koester and Taegan Bartolacci of Cairo, Abby Uhlich and Emilee Grimes of Slater, Camryon Orf of Sturgeon, Taylor OBannon of Madison and Malia Carmack of Glasgow.
Other first team selections along with Stone were Jacob Brooks and Jake Snider of Sturgeon, Tyler Perkins of New Franklin, Cole Meisenheimer of Pilot Grove, Caden Escamilla and Blaze Escamilla of Community R-6, Colby Hale, Jacob Davis and Alex Zike of Cairo, Keegan Zdybel and Chandler Zdybel of Slater and Adris Hamilton of Glasgow.
Honorable mention all-conference were Gavin Bishop of New Franklin, Gavin Shepherd of Pilot Grove, Jakobie Breshears and Aden Campbell of Slater, Gage Wilson of Cairo, Jimmy Leighton of Madison and Briar Boss of Glasgow.