Pilot Grove senior Samarah Bailey and Cairo junior Jacob Davis both had something in common during the Central Activities Conference selections by area coaches.
While both were named MVPs in softball and baseball for the 2018 season, they also played on undefeated teams in conference play.
The Lady Tigers closed out the conference season at 7-0, followed by Cairo at 6-1, Community R-6 at 4-2, New Franklin, Sturgeon and Madison each at 3-4, Slater at 1-6 and Glasgow at 0-7.
As for the Cairo baseball team, they finished the season in the CAC at 5-0. Pilot Grove finished second at 4-1, followed by Madison at 3-2, New Franklin at 1-4 and Glasgow at 0-5.
Of course Bailey wasn’t the only first team selection for the Lady Tigers. In all, Pilot Grove had four selections with Melanie Wolfe, Emily Schupp and Natalie Rentel joining Bailey.
New Franklin had two first-team selections in seniors Lauren Evans and Lindsey Brown.
Other first team selections in softball were Keegan Ryan, Kacie Callahan and Lori Leathers of Cairo, Emma Angel, Natalie Thomas and Emmi Johnson of Community, Emma Bright and Cade McMorris of Sturgeon, Maddie Thomas of Madison and Krista Monnig of Glasgow.
New Franklin also placed two on the honorable mention team in sophomores Alexia Sprick and Kayce Hundley. Abby Schupp was also a honorable-mention selection for Pilot Grove along with Kayla Koester and Cortnie Canote of Cairo, Kaleigh Shroyer and Abby Uhlich of Slater, Katie Calvert of Sturgeon and Charity Morris of Madison.
In baseball, Cairo had four selections with Bryce Taylor, Kenny Brunkhorst and Jack Prewett joining Davis of Cairo.
Pilot Grove placed three players on the first team in juniors Cole Meisenheimer and Kealin Vinson and sophomore Luke Kollmeyer. New Franklin had two first-team selections in juniors Gavin Bishop and Zac Held.
Other first team selections were Sturgeon’s Jacob Brooks, Ben Doss and Blake Bailey, Madison’s Jimmy Layton, Jacob Wandrey and Tyler Buck and Glasgow’s Briar Boss.
Honorable mention selections were Bo Vinson of Pilot Grove, Colten Collyott of New Franklin, Drew Sanders of Glasgow and Tanner Adams of Cairo.