It came as no surprise that Prairie Home senior Shianne Rhorer and Jamestown’s Trenton Barbour were selected as MVPs of the CCAA conference for the 2016-17 season.
After all, Rhorer led the Lady Panthers in both scoring and rebounding for the season not to mention that Prairie Home is still playing in the postseason. As for Barbour, he  led the Eagles to their best season in recent years and a No. 2 seed in last week’s district tournament in Bunceton.
In the final-team standings for the girls in the CCAA, Prairie Home and Calvary Lutheran tied for the top spot at 3-1 while Higbee finished third at 2-2, Bunceton fourth at 1-3 and Jamestown fifth at 0-4.
Senior Rachel Distler joined Rhorer on the first team for the Lady Panthers.
Bunceton also had two first-team selections in junior Lauren Wieland and senior Rachel Lenz while Higbee placed four players on the first team in seniors Rhiannon Runyon and Sabrina Huddleston and juniors Geocie Sager and Sam Nelson.
The only other first team selections came from Calvary Lutheran in seniors Rebecca Thompson, Sam Gunn and Brooke Rollins.
Heading the honorable-mention all-conference team were Bunceton sophomore Taylor Burnett, Jamestown sophomore Chiane Harlan and Calvary Lutheran’s Abbie Klatt.
In the CCAA standings for the boys, Jamestown finished 4-0 while Calvary Lutheran placed second at 3-1, Prairie Home third at 2-2, Higbee fourth at 1-3 and Bunceton fifth at 0-4.
Joining Barbour for the Jamestown boys on the first team was junior Garrett Wolfe.
Prairie Home placed three players on the first team in seniors Ross Kendrick and Wyatt Borghardt and junior Creed Flood.
Calvary Lutheran also had three players on the first team in seniors Colin Bernskoetter, Alex Flannigan and Luke Allen while Higbee had two players selected to the first team in seniors Wil Clark and Cameron Crawford.
Players named to the honorable-mention team were Jamestown juniors Austin Flippin and Cole Theissen and freshman Clark Rohrbach, Bunceton sophomore Blake Petsel and Calvary Lutheran junior Jimmie Wehmeyer.