Several Boonville High School Silver Pirate Band members received one of the highest distinctions of band on November 4 when they competed against 40 high schools from the West Central District to claim a spot on the West Central District Band.

“Only 180 students were selected and recognized for their outstanding musicianship.  From the Boonville Silver Pirate Band, 20 students earned membership in the district bands.  Both bands will rehearse and perform in concert at the University of Central Missouri in January,” Boonville High School Band Director Kim Pirtle stated.  

Among the students, three were chosen for first chair in the band – a distinction that only a select few achieve. Anthony Black received first chair for bass clarinet, Ethan VanDyke received first chair for the tenor saxophone and Emily Painter received first chair for the contra-bass clarinet.

The following students will join the band in January:

Cidney Dorkins, flute

Josie Johnson, flute

Sharyn Shipley, clarinet

Elizabeth Woolbright, clarinet

Kennedy Walker, clarinet

Hannah Loesing, clarinet

Acacia Jiles, clarinet

Anthony Black, bass clarinet

Garrett Leutung, bass clarinet

Emily Painter, contra-bass clarinet

Ethan VanDyke, tenor saxophone

Josh Derendinger, trumpet

Hayden Alley, french horn

Vance Farris, trombone

Evan Alley, tuba

The following students earned membership in the West Central District Honorable Mention Band:

Jalyn Schnetzler, alto saxophone

Dalton Pannell, trumpet

Josh Derendinger, trumpet

Kameron Desmond, bass clarinet

Emily Byrne, oboe first alternate

Trevor Firman, trombone, Honor Band

Marina Firman, clarinet, Honorable Mention Band

Pirtle was very pleased with the band and their achievements.