Five elected to Cooper County Extension

BOONVILLE–The results of the Cooper County Extension elections have been tallied. A total of five individuals were elected in two districts to serve a two year term on the Cooper County Extension Council following the two week election period, which was held January 13-24.
Elected for Cooper County District One (Boonville 65233 and Blackwater 65322 Zip Codes) were Melissa Hampton, Bob Bosma and Jeff Lammers.
Elected for Cooper County District Two (All Cooper County Zip Codes except 65233 and 65322) were Karen Brickner and Lee Schrader.
Council members are responsible for carrying out four main duties, which include working with extension specialists to provide educational programs to county residents, overseeing the finances of local extension operations, providing personnel to carry out extension activities, and electing and organizing the local extension council.  
The University of Missouri's Extension’s distinct land grant mission is to improve lives, communities and economies by producing relevant, reliable, and responsive educational strategies that enhance access to the resources and research of the University of Missouri.  Educational needs determined in each county help determine local extension programming.
The first meeting for the new council is scheduled for Tuesday, February 11.