BHS music students earn I rating

Around 80 music students from Boonville High School particpated in the MSHSAA District Solo and Small Ensemble Festival Saturday in Sedalia. BHS Band Instructor Steve Litwiller said it was a successful day for the students. 
"All these soloists and ensembles worked before and after school and in the evenings to prepare for the Festival, which is sponsored by the Missouri State High School Activities Association," Litwiller said. 
All students who earned a "I" rating will qualify to perform at the State Music Festival at the University of Missouri-Columbia on April 25.
Students receiving District Honor 'I' (Superior) ratings include Austin Andrews, Makenzie Ficken, Forrest Hage, Bryanna Nivert, Noah Rogers, Haley Thoma and Frankie Vollrath. These students competed in the voice solo portion and will progress to the state competition. The Women's Sextet  of Samantha Abel, Makenzie Ficken, Michaela Lenz, Haley Thoma, Frankie Vollrath and Brianna Worthington will also progress.
Also receiving a Districts honors included a tuba solo by Forrest Hage, a bass clarinet solo by Jessica Matney, clarinet solo by Cindy DeVore, trombone solo by Luke Johnson, baritone solo by Richard Bell, baritone and trombone solo by Noah Rogers, clarinet solo by Adam Christal, french horn solo by Caitlyn Ridgway, clarinet solo by Cortney Hutson, baritone saxophone solo by Josh Bailey, flute solo by Hannah Selsor, tuba solo by Addison Jones, flute solo by Haley Thoma, baritone solo by Noah Heaton, the baritone trio of Richard Bell, Noah Heaton and Dylan Schrader,The trombone quartet of Noah Rogers, Logan Parks, Brian Brown and Luke Johnson, the clarinet quartet of Kendall Firman, Ciera Harman, Kelsey Redden and Rebecca Dey and the clarinet quartet of Adam Christal, Brad Brinkmann, Noah Lammers and Caleb Miller.
Earning a District Honor II rating include vocal solos of Samantha Abel, Angie Carney-Jackson, Stella Holland, Michaela Lenz, Cody Painter, Alexandria Rinehart, Brendan Twenter and Kelsie Williams. Receiving a '2' rating included the Women's Sextet of Jade Bakken, Ciera Harman, Marina Heard, Cortney Hutson, Savannah Smith and Savannah Worthington. Other Vocal ensemblesincluded Angie Carney-Jackson, Christina Dalton, Sarah Ellebracht, Jeremy Holland, Nathan Jones, Trent Monk, Bryanna Nivert, Teresa Vierling and Peyton Woodhurst. An honor '2' rating also was awarded to a piano solo by Cortney Hutson and Noah Rogers, timpani solor by Ian Pond, basoon solo by Devin Ellebracht, clarinet solo by Rebecca Dey,  trombone solo by Arb Williamson, flute solo by Samantha Abel, trumpet solo by Emma Escobar, the woodwind trio of Michelle Surratt, Amber Akau and Cindy DeVore, the saxophone trio of Devin Smalley, Dylan Kaiser and Jason Broyhill, the bassoon trio of Samantha Ivy, Janna MacKay and Devin Ellebracht,
The trumpet quartet of Devlin Carter, Jared Bledsoe, Taylor Ellebracht and Hannah Lefler, the woodwind trio of Haley Thoma, Samantha Abel and Cortney Hutson, the woodwind trio of Haley Hilden, Adam Christal and Samantha Ivy and the woodwind trio of Courtney Payne, Jessica Matney and Devin Ellebracht.  
Earning a District '3' rating included the vocal solo of Adam Christal, flute solo by Marina Heard, alto saxophone solo by Brendan Twenter and clarinet solo by Kendall Firman.