It was only fitting that the MVPs of the Central Activities Conference would come from the first-place teams for the 2012-13 season.
Although the Cairo Bearcats and Sturgeon Lady Bulldogs had their seasons come to an end over the weekend, they still had two of the best players in the conference.
Molly Gregory of Sturgeon was the MVP for the girls while Brad Roberts of Cairo was the Most Valuable Player for the boys.
Glasgow and New Franklin also had their share of players selected to the all-conference team. The Glasgow boys and girls placed a total of nine on the CAC team while the New Franklin boys and girls had a total of six players.
In the final-team standings for the girls, Sturgeon finished the conference season unbeaten at 12-0. New Franklin, meanwhile, finished second at 9-3, followed by Glasgow at 8-4, Cairo at 7-5, Keytesville at 3-9, Brunswick at 2-10 and Madison at 0-12.
In the final-team standings for the boys, Cairo also finished unbeaten at 12-0. Glasgow and Sturgeon tied for second at 9-3, followed by New Franklin at 6-6, Brunswick at 4-8, Madison at 3-9 and Keytesville at 0-12.
Joining Gregory on the first-team for the girls were Jasmyne Boggs, Aly Hundley and Madi Lyons of New Franklin, Nikki Fuemmeler and Abby Thompson of Glasgow, Kylee Foster, Julia Galloway and Maddie Embree of Sturgeon, Marley Winkler and Caitlin Canote of Cairo and Morgan Schupback of Keytesville.
Players selected to the honorable-mention all-conference team were Erin Reynolds and Trisha McMillan of Glasgow, Bridgett Arends of Sturgeon, Marissa Kahn of Brunswick, Jami Westfaul of Madison and Alex Wehar of Cairo.
Players on the first team along with Roberts for the boys were Reid Littrell, Ethan Thompson and Joel Monnig of Glasgow, Tyler White and Tanner White of New Franklin, Spencer Kelly, Brayden Kelly and Lorenzo Chisholm of Sturgeon, Aaron Barratt and Tyler Kirkendoll of Cairo and Blake Brown of Madison.
Heading the honorable-mention team were Blake Hackman and Jimmie Wilson of Glasgow, Tyler Hull of New Franklin, Tanner Sandker of Sturgeon, Quade Rice of Brunswick and Russell Shaw of Keytesville.