The White brothers were in full force last night for the New Franklin boys basketball team while combining for 31 of the team’s 53 points in a 53-33 win over the New Bloomfield Wildcats in the consolation semifinals in the Sturgeon Tournament.
While Tyler White led the Bulldogs with 19 points, sophomore Tanner White added 12 for New Franklin, who led New Bloomfield 14-8 after one, 24-13 at the half and 35-19 after three quarters of play. The Bulldogs also held a 18-14 advantage in the final period to win the game by 20.
New Franklin coach Jim Schlotzhauer said his team struggled to get going offensively against New Bloomfield.  
“We did not have enough movement to get good easy looks,” Schlotzhauer said.  “We must learn to be more patient at times and to let our offense flow.  Defensively we only gave up 33, but we gave up way too many easy baskets.  We have to buckle down in the trophy game on Saturday in order to take one home.”
Tyler Hull had eight points for the Bulldogs while Alex Holem added four, Jacob Hendrix three, Ryley Lyons two and Jacob Woodbury and Adam Harris each with one.
New Bloomfield was led by Justice Richards with 10 points.
In other games last night in the tournament, the top-seeded Salisbury boys defeated fourth-seeded South Callaway 64-37 while No. 2 Sturgeon turned back third-seeded Community 68-39. The Westran boys also prevailed over Paris in the consolation semifinals by a score of 62-50.
Tournament action will continue on the girls side of the bracket tonight, with Westran playing South Callaway in the seventh-place game starting at 4:30 p.m., followed by Community versus New Bloomfield for fifth place at 6, Paris versus New Franklin for third place at 7:30 and Sturgeon versus Salisbury in the championship game starting at 9.
On the boys side of the bracket on Saturday, New Bloomfield will take on Paris in the seventh-place game starting at 2 p.m., followed by New Franklin versus Westran for fifth place at 3:30, South Callaway versus Community for third place at 5 and Salisbury versus Sturgeon in the championship at 6:30.