Cairo senior Aaron Barratt and Sturgeon senior Maddie Embree were recently selected as MVPs in the Central Activities Conference for the 2012 season.
Embree helped lead the Lady Bulldogs to the championship in the conference with a record of 6-0 while edging Cairo, who finished 5-1. The New Franklin Lady Bulldogs softball team finished third at 4-2, followed by Glasgow at 3-3, Madison at 2-4, Brunswick at 1-5 and Keytesville at 0-6.
Meanwhile, in baseball, Cairo captured first at 6-0. Sturgeon finished at 5-1, followed by New Franklin at 4-2, Glasgow at 3-3, Madison at 2-4, Brunswick at 1-5 and Keytesville at 0-6.
The Lady Bulldogs, who closed out the season at 15-11 overall, had two players selected to the first team and three on the honorable-mention team. As for the New Franklin baseball team, who finished 6-6 in the fall, they had three players selected to the first team and two as honorable-mention.
Joining Aly Hundley and Kallie Monteer on the first team in softball are Kylee Foster, Caty Barrett and Brigett Arends of Sturgeon, Alex Wehar and Brett Hunt of Cairo, Trisha McMillan, Aly Fuemmeler and Peyton Davis of Glasgow, Chelsea Mason and Brooklyn Duncan of Brunswick and Morgan Schupback of Keytesville.
Players selected to the honorable-mention are Sara Montgomery, Emily Hendrix and Kalani Pihana of New Franklin, Molly Gregory and Haley Heath of Sturgeon, Kait David of Cairo, Jessica Stoebe of Madison, Katie Reigelsberger of Brunswick and Cheyenne Friesz of Keytesville.
Players heading the CAC first team in baseball along with New Franklin’s Tyler Hull, Tyler White and Alex Holem are Brad Roberts, Tyler Kirkendoll and Caleb Keen of Cairo, Spencer Kelly, Trenton Kalinowski, Ryan Seidel, Tanner Sandker and William Roberts of Sturgeon, Blake Brown and Tyler Bennett of Madison and Ethan Thompson of Glasgow.
Players joining New Franklin’s Jacob Woodbury and Zac Evans on the honorable-mention team are Reid Littrell, Joel Monnig and Alex Mathews of Glasgow, Jacob Wandrey and Blake Hultz of Madison, Brayden Kelly and Hunter Smith of Sturgeon and Drennan Mollick of Cairo.